PREFACE Manual of Regulations for Banks

The Manual of Regulations for Banks (MORB) serves as the principal source of banking regulations issued by the Monetary Board of the Bangko Sentral. The 31 December 2018 MORB edition contains the latest updates and amendments on banking regulations. It also covers adoption of international standards and best practices, as well as amendments to existing policies.

The Monetary Board, in its Resolution No. 1203 dated 07 December 1994, directed the creation of a multi-departmental Ad Hoc Review Committee with representatives from the then Supervision and Examination Sector (SES), renamed as the Financial Supervision Sector (FSS) ¹, and the Office of the General Counsel and Legal Services (OGCLS). The Committee was officially constituted under Office Order No. 2 series of 1995, with the latest reconstitution under Office Order No. 0373 dated 05 February 2018. The Committee has the following functions:

- Update the MORB and the Manual of Regulations for Non-Bank Financial Institutions (collectively referred herein as the "Manuals") on a continuing basis;
- 2. Issue clearance to proposed Circulars;
- 3. Effect corrections/revisions to the Manuals to ensure consistency and good order; and
- 4. Oversee the posting of the Manuals in the BSP Website.

Cognizant of the value of digital technology to enhance efficiency, the MOR Committee embarked on a project to digitize the Manuals to improve usability as well as the timeliness of incorporating regulatory updates to the Manuals. Towards this end, the Task Force on the Creation of the New Manual of Regulations for Banks and Non-Bank Financial Institutions (Task Force) was constituted under Office Order No. 0374 dated 05 February 2018, to perform the following functions:

- 1. Review the existing design and format of the Manuals and propose necessary enhancements therein;
- Propose deletion of obsolete or redundant provisions of the Manuals, as well as provisions with expired effectivity dates; and
- 3. Lead in the development of digital Manuals in coordination with the relevant departments/units of the Bangko Sentral.

The MOR Committee is composed of:

| Adviser – | Ms. Chuchi G. Fonacier Deputy Governor Financial Supervision Sector |
|--------------------|---|
| Chairperson – | Mr. Jose Recon S. Tano ² Director Examination Department (ED) III |
| - | Ms. Veronica B. Bayangos ³ Director Office of Supervisory Policy Development (OSPD) |
| Vice Chairperson – | Atty. Asma A. Panda Deputy Director OGCLS |

Members:

Atty. Vanessa P. Tabernero-Bunag Legal Officer IV OGCLS

Atty. Florabelle M. Santos-Madrid Officer-in-Charge CPCD II Ms. Betty Christine C. Bunyi Director ED II

Ms. Celedina P. Garbosa Manager CPCD II **Mr. Louie Mel R. Intia** Acting Manager CPCD III

Ms. Concepcion A. Garcia Acting Deputy Director Micro, Small and Medium Enterprise Finance Specialist Group

Mr. Pol Joseph G. Panao Manager Integrated Supervision Department (ISD) I

Ms. Rhodora M. Brazil-De Vera Deputy Director OSPD

Ms. Iris M. Evaristo Manager Central Point of Contact Department (CPCD) I

The Task Force is composed of:

Ms. Jona K. Mercado Acting Manager CPCD IV

Mr. Ronaldo B. Ramos Manager ED IV

Ms. Hazel C. Pajutagana Acting Deputy Director ISD II

Ms. Amelia B. Damian Bank Officer V OSPD

Ms. Carolyn S. Geroy Bank Officer V OSPD

| Adviser | - | Atty. Juan De Zuñiga, Jr. Monetary Board Member |
|--------------------|---|--|
| | | Ms. Chuchi G. Fonacier Deputy Governor Financial Supervision Sector |
| | | Atty. Elmore O. Capule Assistant Governor and General Counsel OGCLS |
| Management Sponsor | - | Ms. Lyn I. Javier Managing Director Supervisory Policy Sub-Sector |
| Chairperson | - | Mr. Jose Recon S. Tano Director ED III |
| Vice Chairperson | - | Atty. Asma A. Panda Deputy Director OGCLS |

Members:

Atty. Paul R. Vehemente Deputy Director ED III

Atty. Marie Tanya Z. Recalde Bank Officer V OSPD **Ms. Amelia B. Damian** Bank Officer V OSPD

Ms. Joelyn P. Cuchapin Bank Officer V OSPD Atty. Orlando C. Negradas Manager CPCD III

Ms. Zoe A. Ferrer Bank Officer IV CPCD II

Ms. Vanessa Anne N. Beltran Manager ISD II

Atty. Vanessa P. Tabernero-Bunag Legal Officer IV OGCLS Mr. Romelito V. Pasol Manager ED I

Ms. Kristine Joy C. Custodio Bank Officer IV Capital Markets Specialist Group

Atty. Alvie Marie L. Sojor-Mañaul Bank Officer V ISD I

Atty. Alain Bert G. Regis Legal Officer I OGCLS

The Committee Secretariat is headed by Ms. Ma. Cecilia U. Contreras, Supervision and Examination

Specialist II, and is assisted by Ms. Lara E. Loyola, Administrative Services Officer II, OSPD, and two

other personnel.

The Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas

Footnotes

- 1. Effective 02 May 2018 under Office Order No. 1061 dated 11 April 2018.
- 2. Chairperson effective until 30 June 2018; Member effective 01 July 2018 onwards.
- 3. Member effective 01 January 2018 to 30 June 2018; Chairperson effective 01 July 2018 onwards.